Tags

, , ,

I met Pete Hawkins, from DJ At My Party, when he kindly agreed to be our catwalk DJ for an event I was planning. I caught up with him to find out a bit more about the man behind the music.

DJ At My Party

Tell me about DJ At My Party and what you do?

We provide bespoke mobile entertainment for Weddings, Corporate Clients & Private Parties the majority of our work is weddings and our experience tells us that brides need reassurance, not only that you have booked a professional wedding entertainer and reliable Disco/DJ, but one that will keep everyone entertained until you finally leave for your honeymoon to reflect on an amazing day. We feel choosing a professional wedding entertainer should be a two way process.  Your DJ needs to be understand your vision of how your perfect day will unravel and be remembered as a truly unforgettable day. At DJ At My Party we provide a  6-stage approach to weddings that has worked well for many customers and ensures you will have a great night to round off your special day.

We can provide you with anything from an all-day event where we are there through your Ceremony & Wedding Breakfast right to your music in the evening reception providing you with all you need making sure your day goes without a hitch or if you require just a disco at your evening reception.  A fantastic memorable wedding reception doesn’t just “happen”.  It needs to be planned and managed.  Brides have many questions to ask; indeed I have many questions to ask you and welcome the opportunity to explain the whole process and the costs for my services. Whether large or small we are here to make your day something you can remember for years to come.

How far in advance should I book my DJ?

Established DJ’s will be booked up months if not years in advance for popular dates. Generally Saturdays are the most popular day followed by Friday and Sunday.  The General rule is six to nine months in advance but my advice is to try & book your DJ as soon as you have a date & venue.  The main reason for this is that the evening entertainment can make or break an occasion. It is the last thing your guests will remember from your big day so it’s essential you choose your entertainment wisely.

How long have you been a DJ?.

I have been a DJ for over 30 years now and I have worked for various clubs. I have also spent a number of years working on cruise ships.  But over the last 10 years I have been putting my focus on providing bespoke entertainment to many brides & grooms around the country.

What is the best part of your job?

The best part of my job is meeting with the couple, talking through with them & seeing what their hopes & dreams are for their perfect wedding.  Taking their ideas & putting suggestions to how we can achieve it  then putting it to music .  Then attending their wedding day & seeing it all become a reality.

What advice would you give when choosing a DJ for a wedding or event?

Remember when booking a DJ you are paying for his or her experience to be professionally organised and have an ability to provide the right entertainment for the Bride & Groom and their guests. The DJ is generally the most important part of the function and may make or break your event. It is not as easy as it looks and being a good entertainer takes time & experience. I also normally suggest it is the best bet is to meet your DJ face to face. This is the best way to get to know if they are right for you.  You can also go over music and what you want from the event. There may be extra charges for this so make sure you find this out too.

Always ensure that the entertainment carries all the correct insurances E.g. Public liability Insurance (PLI) most venues normally ask for £10million, also they have an up to date Portable Appliance Test (P.A.T.). Also ensure you get a written contract this is a legally binding agreement between you and the DJ so if something goes wrong you have proof of purchase.  Also check the terms and conditions when signing and make sure you have access to them.

How do I get in contact with you?

I can generally be contacted via the numbers   Office: (01252) 416141 Mobile: (07768) 361485  Skype: djpetehawkins

E-Mail: pete@djatmyparty.co.uk

These are my website & Facebook etc. where you can find out more information on what I do.

Website:    www.djatmyparty.co.uk

Twitter:      www.twitter.com\djatmyparty

Facebook: www.facebook.com\djatmyparty

